Logo velorian
Logo velorian Turn Indicator C(argobike)-Line D(ynamo)-Line E(bike)-Line FAQ Newsletter Press DE EN

Newly developed e-bike turn signal set ready for serial production

velorian Kickstarter

16.06.2020

Velorian GmbH sets signal for more safety for cyclists and starts crowdfunding campaign


The safety of cyclists in road traffic is a frequently criticised topic, especially in large cities. In addition to many external influences such as the street scene or the constantly increasing traffic, there is also potential for optimisation in cycling and cyclists themselves. High-performance e-bikes have long been established in everyday road use. Berlin-based velorian GmbH proves that the electrical energy of bicycles can be useful not only for fast and comfortable riding, but also for more safety on the way from A to B. After more than three years of development and testing in the Berlin urban jungle, the young company can now present its practical "velorian E-Bike Blinkerset", which interested parties have been able to support since 29 May 2020 as part of a crowdfunding campaign via Kickstarter.

Everyone knows the classic turning signal of cyclists: stretch out your arm as far as possible in time. This also means taking your hand off the handlebars and riding one-handed over a longer distance and for a longer period of time, while at the same time looking over the shoulder and having all other road users in view. A real multitasking performance, which often tempts to do without the hand signal. In addition, the classic hand signal loses much of its perception by other road users at dusk, in the dark and in similar poor visibility conditions.

Indicators on the bike: Strong demand especially in urban centers

The idea of the velorian e-bike turn signal set matured on the basis of countless such experiences in the daily cycling routine of an experienced Berlin road user. Behind velorian is Eckehard Bahr, who, as a graduate engineer, was unable to find a previously existing, satisfactory solution for safer turning in the city. „For a long time I have been riding my bike every day in the Berlin area and the need for useful accessories for more safety grew very quickly in me. As a person with an affinity for technology, aspects such as reliability, durability, stability and compliance with legal requirements were important to me, as well as an attractive and discreet appearance.“, describes Bahr.

Suitable features thanks to practice-oriented development

With technical know-how and a lot of experience as input for the development, Bahr has considered all necessary details for the greatest possible practical suitability of the e-bike indicators. The individual components are high-quality, motorcycle-proven mini LED indicators which, in combination with newly developed control electronics and suitable mounting material, fit every e-bike and e-pedelec. The bicycle battery supplies the system with power and the indicator set is also designed in accordance with the applicable road traffic regulations. It can therefore be used as a retrofitted accessory, also as an alternative to the hand signal. The same applies to electric cargo bikes and electric recumbents on which the indicator set can also be mounted. An sound signal for the driver, a warning flashing function or an increased frequency of flashing and sound signals in the event of a defect in one of the turn signals underline the practical suitability of the development.

Getting the turn signal set on the road together

More than three years of ambitious development work have been invested by velorian GmbH in the E-Bike Blinkerset. Thanks to additional funding from the state of Berlin, the first presentations at German bicycle trade fairs in 2019 were able to arouse great interest. The velorian team is now ready to start series production of the E-Bike Blinkerset and has been calling for support with a crowdfunding campaign since 29 May 2020.

velorian GmbH
Storkower Str. 115a
10407 Berlin
Germany

mail: contact@velorian.de
fon: +49 (0)30 3643 1679
fax: +49 (0)30 3643 3905

Contact Person: Eckehard Bahr
mobil: +49 (0)152 260 156 74

velorian GmbH was founded in Berlin in 2019.

velorian develops and distributes innovative bicycle accessories.

These include turn signal solutions for all types of bicycles, cargo bikes and recumbent bicycles.

Material

Logo velorian
Logo velorian Shop Blinkersysteme D(ynamo)-Line E(Bike)-Line FAQ News Presse DE EN

Neuentwickeltes e-Bike Blinkerset reif für Serienproduktion

velorian Kickstarter

16.06.2020

Velorian GmbH setzt Signal für mehr Sicherheit von Radfahrern und startet Crowdfunding-Kampagne


Die Sicherheit von Radfahrern im Straßenverkehr ist insbesondere in Großstädten ein häufig bemängeltes Thema. Neben vielen äußeren Einflüssen wie dem Straßenbild oder dem stetig steigenden Verkehrsaufkommen besteht auch bei Rad und Radler selbst Optimierungspotential. Leistungsfähige e-Bikes sind längst im Straßenalltag etabliert. Die velorian GmbH aus Berlin beweist, dass die elektrische Energie der Fahrräder nicht ausschließlich für das schnelle und komfortable Vorankommen, sondern zusätzlich auch für mehr Sicherheit auf dem Weg von A nach B nützlich sein kann. So kann das junge Unternehmen nach über dreijähriger Entwicklungs- und Testzeit im Berliner Großstadtdschungel sein praktikables velorian e-Bike Blinkerset vorstellen, das Interessierte seit dem 29. Mai 2020 im Rahmen einer Crowdfunding-Kampagne über Kickstarter unterstützen können.

Ein Jeder kennt das klassische Abbiegesignal der Radfahrer: möglichst rechtzeitig den Arm ausstrecken. Das bedeutet ebenso, über eine längere Distanz und Dauer die Hand vom Lenker zu nehmen und einhändig zu fahren, dabei gleichzeitig den Schulterblick durchzuführen und alle anderen Verkehrsteilnehmer im Blick zu haben. Eine regelrechte Multitasking-Leistung, die häufig dazu verleitet, auf das Handzeichen zu verzichten. Zudem büßt das klassische Handzeichen in der Dämmerung, bei Dunkelheit und ähnlichen schlechten Sichtverhältnissen stark an seiner Wahrnehmung durch andere Verkehrsteilnehmer ein.

Blinker am Bike: Enormer Bedarf besonders in der Großstadt

Die Idee des velorian e-Bike Blinkerset reifte auf Basis unzähliger solcher Erfahrungen im täglichen Radfahrer-Alltag eines routinierten Berliner Verkehrsteilnehmers. Hinter velorian steht Eckehard Bahr, der als Dipl. Ingenieur keine bislang existierende, zufriedenstellende Lösung für ein sichereres Abbiegen in der Großstadt finden konnte. „Seit längerem bin ich täglich mit dem e-Bike im Berliner Stadtgebiet unterwegs und das Bedürfnis nach sinnvollem Zubehör für mehr Sicherheit wuchs sehr schnell in mir. Als technikaffiner Mensch waren mir Aspekte wie Zuverlässigkeit, Langlebigkeit, Stabilität und Einhaltung gesetzlicher Vorgaben wichtig, außerdem ein ansprechendes und dezentes Erscheinungsbild“, beschreibt Bahr.

Taugliche Features dank praxisnaher Entwicklung

Mit technischem Know-how und viel Erfahrung als Input für die Entwicklung hat Bahr alle nötigen Details für größtmögliche Praxistauglichkeit der e-Bike Blinker bedacht. Bei den einzelnen Komponenten handelt es sich um hochwertige und an Motorrädern bewährte Mini-LED-Blinker, die in Kombination mit einer neu entwickelten Steuerungselektronik und passendem Montagematerial an jedes e-Bike und e-Pedelec passen. Der Fahrrad-Akku versorgt das System mit Strom, zudem ist das Blinkerset entsprechend den gültigen Regeln der Straßenverkehrsordnung konzipiert. Somit kann es als nachträglich installiertes Zubehör genutzt werden, auch als Alternative zum Handzeichen. Gleiches gilt für e-Lastenräder und e-Liegeräder, an denen das Blinkerset ebenfalls montiert werden kann. Ein akustisches Taktsignal für den Fahrer, eine Warnblinkfunktion oder eine erhöhte Taktfrequenz von Blink- und Tonsignal im Falle eines Defekts an einem der Blinkelemente unterstreichen die Praxistauglichkeit der Entwicklung.

Blinkerset gemeinsam auf die Straße bringen

Über drei Jahre ambitionierte Entwicklungsarbeit hat die velorian GmbH in die e-Bike Blinker investiert. Dank zusätzlicher Förderung durch das Land Berlin konnten 2019 erste Präsentationen auf deutschen Fahrradmessen großes Interesse wecken. Das velorian Team steht nun für die Serienproduktion des e-Bike Blinkersets in den Startlöchern und ruft seit dem 29. Mai 2020 mit einer Crowdfunding-Kampagne zur Unterstützung auf.

velorian GmbH
Storkower Str. 115a
10407 Berlin


mail: contact@velorian.de
fon: +49 (0)30 3643 1679
fax: +49 (0)30 3643 3905

Ansprechpartner: Eckehard Bahr
mobil: +49 (0)152 260 156 74

Die velorian GmbH wurde 2019 in Berlin gegründet.

velorian entwickelt und vertreibt innovatives Fahrradzubehör.

Dazu gehören Blinkerlösungen für Fahrräder aller Art, Lastenräder und Liegeräder.

Material