Logo velorian
Logo velorian Turn Indicator C(argobike)-Line D(ynamo)-Line E(bike)-Line FAQ Newsletter Press DE EN
e-line on Kickstarter since 29.05.2020
Click here...

velorian E-Bike Blinkerset for more safety on the road

Whether on the road or on the cycle path, it is getting more and more crowded. Cycling in a big city like Berlin makes special demands, because you are rarely alone on the road. Seeing and being seen, especially in the dark, is more important than ever. The dark season is over now, but the next one is sure to come.

The velorian e-bike blinker set also fits on e-cargo or recumbent bikes, on an e-bike or S-pedelec.

bike rider 1

Blinker

Basically all LED motorcycle turn signals up to 1.5 Watt can be used. For the upcoming kickstarter campaign, two chaser indicators were selected for the front position and two small, bright indicators at the rear. The experiences from the test drives, some of which took years, show that the rear indicators should always be rather small and have a flexible attachment. This increases the age enormously. For the same reason, the front turn signals also have a flexible attachment.

Blinker Operation

It is operated via two buttons on the handlebars. Pressed once on the left, the left indicator flashes until the same button is pressed again. Otherwise, the indicator goes off on its own after two minutes. This time has so far been sufficient for each traffic light phase. A change from left to right or vice versa is simply done by pressing the other button.

If both switches are operated, a warning flash starts, which stops after 15 minutes, or can be stopped at any time by pressing any switch. The sound of the video is switched off. Switch it on by clicking on the speaker symbol in the video image to hear the flashing click.

Blinker box

The housing with the control electronics, the turn signal box, is fastened with cable ties to a suitable place in the front area of the bicycle frame. The supplied cable ties are made of PU and UV-resistant and are therefore designed for permanent use in all weather conditions. It would also be possible to use coated stainless steel cable ties.

usb

The connection to the power supply and the connections between flasher box, buttons, indicators and power supply are made with the flat plugs proven on the bike.

The lengths of the connecting cables have been chosen so that they are long enough for an optimal mounting position on the bike even on a high frame. Up to the velorian cable box (see below) 50 cm cable is available, up to the rear turn signals 160 cm and up to the power connection 100 cm cable. The cables are shortened to fit the respective bicycle frame during assembly and only then are flat plugs and insulation fitted. For cargo and recumbent bikes these cable lengths can be dimensioned differently on request.

The cables on the turn signal box are replaceable. If one cuts off too short during the assembly, this is annoying, but can be repaired by screwing on the housing and inserting a new longer cable.

During the test phase it became apparent that a status LED on the handlebars too often required a view of the handlebars from the road. That's why the indicator box has a sound generator that makes the flashing audible. The tone sounds almost like the flasher ticking in a car and is just loud enough to be heard while driving. The sound of the videos on this page is turned off. Turn it on to hear the flasher click.

Why cable? Because the battery can be used on the e-bike. This eliminates the need to check and recharge additional batteries before starting the ride. The velorian e-bike blinker set works with an input voltage of 6 - 48 Volt direct current, it is therefore not suitable for connection to a hub dynamo.

The current requirements of the StVZO in Germany for indicators on motorised two-wheelers, multi-track bicycles and the EMC directive for e-bikes are fulfilled. The StVZO does not (yet) provide turn signals for single-track, i.e. completely normal bicycles and e-bikes.

The electronics of the velorian e-bike blinker set are reverse polarity protected, so nothing will break if the plus and minus connections are reversed. It simply does not work. Likewise, the battery and motor of an e-bike are usually protected by multiple fuses. Because of the low power consumption of the velorian e-bike blinker set, the connection can be realized very easily at the headlight cable, as the following series of pictures shows.

1. Connect Cable Find the cable to the headlight. It's not always as loose on the wheel as it is here.
2. Sort into velorian Cable Box Now it takes courage to make that one cut.
3. Close velorian Cable Box The cable ends are fitted with flat plugs and insulated. The supplied distributors are plugged onto the compartment plugs.
3. Close velorian Cable Box Now the velorian e-bike blinker set is additionally connected to the headlight via the distributor.
3. Close velorian Cable Box This is what it can look like when it's finished.

Some e-bike drive systems, such as Bosch, measure the consumption of the connected headlights and have defined a maximum value for this. This value must be determined beforehand with the specialist dealer, as the drive system can issue error messages if the load is too high, and correct function is then no longer guaranteed. This maximum value should not be exceeded by the indicator and headlamp together when mounted on the headlamp connection cable. The velorian e-bike blinker set has a rated power of 5 watts when all 4 turn signals are flashing.

bike rider 1

Cable Box

An essential part of the solution is the velorian Cable Box. In this box, the cables of buttons and indicators on the handlebars are brought together to form a single cable. After connecting the cables, they are secured internally against pulling to prevent the contacts from loosening by pulling on the cables to a certain extent. The cable box is also secured with cable ties.

1. Connect Cable 1. Connect Cable
2. Sort into velorian Cable Box 2. Sort into velorian Cable Box
3. Close velorian Cable Box 3. Close velorian Cable Box

how to mount velorian Cable Box

bike rider 1

Blinker Brackets

Various indicator brackets made of sheet steel and aluminium were developed and tested, because no two wheels are the same. Mountings for turn signals on the handlebars, on the bowden cable brake lever, and on the luggage rack have been provided so far. The bracket on the handlebars combines the switch and the turn signal bracket, as shown in the video below for mounting the universal bracket. Generally a relatively straight handlebar shape is required. Further different mounts also for cargo bikes and recumbents are in development.

Video for mounting the indicators on the bowden cable brake lever

Video for mounting the indicators on the luggage rack

Video for mounting the turn signals with the universal turn signal holder

bike rider 1

Blinker Feature

E-Bike battery compatible

detail

The velorian e-bike blinker set works with an input voltage of 6 - 48 volts and is compatible with any e-bike battery.

Simple connection

detail

The velorian blinker set can be easily connected to the headlight cable. We recommend installation by a specialist dealer.

Intuitive operation

detail

It is operated via two buttons on the handlebars. Pressed once on the left, the left indicator flashes until the same button is pressed again. Otherwise, the indicator goes off on its own after two minutes.

Chaser indicators in the front and ultra-small indicators in the rear

detail

Blinkers make your bike safer. With chaser indicators, your bike is right on trend. The flexible turn signal arm prevents premature breaking off.

Hazard warning lights

detail

If both buttons are pressed, all indicators will flash a warning flash for 15 minutes.

Approval compliant

detail

The velorian e-bike blinker set is CE conform to the norms and standards CISPR12, ISO 11451-1, ISO 11451-2, DIN EN 15194 and tolerates outdoor temperatures from -20 °C to +75 °C. It meets the current requirements of the StVZO for indicators on motorised two-wheelers, multi-track bicycles and the EMC directive for e-bikes.

e-line on Kickstarter since 29.05.2020
Click here...

brother and sister

Logo velorian
Logo velorian Blinkersysteme C(argobike)-Line D(ynamo)-Line E(Bike)-Line FAQ Newsletter Presse DE EN
Die e-line auf Kickstarter seit dem 29.05.2020
Klicke hier...

velorian E-Bike Blinkerset Für mehr Sicherheit auf der Straße

Ob auf der Straße oder auf dem Radweg, es wird immer voller. Das Fahrradfahren in einer Großstadt wie Berlin stellt besondere Anforderungen, denn man ist selten allein auf der Straße. Sehen und gesehen werden, gerade im Dunklen, ist wichtiger denn je. Die dunkle Jahreszeit ist jetzt vorbei, aber die nächste kommt bestimmt.

Das velorian E-Bike Blinkerset passt auch an E-Lastenräder oder E-Liegeräder, an ein E-Bike oder S-Pedelec.

bike rider 1

Blinker

Grundsätzlich können alle LED Motorrad Blinker bis 1,5 Watt verwendet werden. Für die anstehende Kickstarter Kampagne wurden für die vordere Position zwei Lauflichtblinker und für hinten zwei kleine, helle Blinker ausgewählt. Die Erfahrungen aus den teils jahrelangen Testfahrten zeigen, dass die hinteren Blinker immer eher klein sein und eine flexiblem Befestigung haben sollten. Das erhöht das Lebensalter enorm. Die vorderen Blinker haben aus demselben Grund ebenfalls eine flexiblen Befestigung.

Blinker Bedienung

Die Bedienung erfolgt über zwei Taster am Lenker. Einmal links gedrückt, blinkt der linke Blinker, bis der selbe Taster noch einmal gedrückt wird. Andernfalls geht der Blinker nach zwei Minuten von alleine aus. Diese Zeit hat bisher für jede Ampelphase gereicht. Ein Wechsel von links nach rechts oder umgekehrt geschieht einfach durch Drücken des jeweils anderen Tasters.

Werden beide Schalter betätigt, beginnt ein Warnblinken, das nach 15 Minuten stoppt, oder jederzeit mit Betätigung eines beliebigen Schalters beendet werden kann. Der Ton des Videos ist ausgeschaltet. Schalte ihn durch Klick auf das Lautsprechersymbol im Videobild ein, um das Blinkerklicken zu hören.

Blinkerbox

Das Gehäuse mit der Steuerelektronik, die Blinkerbox, wird mit Kabelbindern an einer passenden Stelle im vorderen Bereich des Fahrradrahmens befestigt. Die mitgelieferten Kabelbindern sind aus PU und UV-beständig und damit für den dauerhaften Einsatz bei jedem Wetter ausgelegt. Es wäre auch möglich, beschichtete Edelstahlkabelbinder zu verwenden.

usb

Der Anschluss an die Stromversorgung und die Verbindungen zwischen Blinkerbox, Tastern, Blinkern und Stromversorgung werden mit den am Fahrrad bewährten Flachsteckern vorgenommen.

Die Längen der Anschlusskabel wurden so gewählt, dass sie für eine optimale Befestigungsposition am Rad auch an einem hohen Rahmen lang genug sind. Bis zur velorian Kabelbox (siehe weiter unten) stehen 50 cm, bis zu den hinteren Blinkern 160 cm und bis zum Stromanschluss 100 cm Kabel zur Verfügung. Die Kabel werden während der Montage für den jeweiligen Fahrradrahmen passend gekürzt und erst dann mit Flachsteckern und Isolierung versehen. Für Lasten- und Liegeräder können diese Kabellängen auf Anfrage anders dimensioniert werden.

Die Kabel an der Blinkerbox sind auswechselbar. Schneidet man während der Montage zu kurz ab, ist das zwar ärgerlich, aber durch Aufschrauben des Gehäuses und neu Einsetzen eines neuen längeren Kabels zu beheben.

Während der Testphase hat sich gezeigt, dass eine Status LED am Lenker zu oft den Blick von der Straße auf den Lenker nötig macht. Darum hat die Blinkerbox einen Tongeber, der das Blinken hörbar macht. Der Ton klingt fast wie das Blinkerticken im Auto und ist gerade so laut, dass man ihn beim Fahren hört. Der Ton der Videos auf dieser Seite ist ausgeschaltet. Schalte ihn ein, um das Blinkerklicken zu hören.

Warum Kabel? Weil die Batterie am E-Bike genutzt werden kann. Das Prüfen und Aufladen zusätzlicher Batterien vor Beginn der Fahrt entfällt somit. Das velorian E-Bike Blinkerset arbeitet mit einer Eingangsspannung von 6 - 48 Volt Gleichstrom, es ist damit nicht für den Anschluss am Nabendynamo geeignet.

Es werden die aktuellen Anforderungen der StVZO in Deutschland für Blinker an motorisierte Zweiräder, mehrspurigen Fahrrädern und der EMV-Richtlinie für E-Bikes erfüllt. Für einspurige, also ganz normale Fahrräder und E-Bikes, sieht die StVZO Blinker (noch) nicht vor.

Die Elektronik des velorian E-Bike Blinkerset ist verpolsicher, bei einem vertauschten Anschluss von Plus und Minus geht nichts kaputt. Es funktioniert einfach nur nicht. Ebenso sind Batterie und Motor eines E-Bike in der Regel mehrfach abgesichert. Wegen des geringen Stromverbrauchs des velorian E-Bike Blinkersets kann der Anschluss sehr einfach am Scheinwerferkabel realisiert werden, wie die folgende Bilderserie zeigt.

1. Kabel verbinden Finde das Kabel zum Scheinwerfer. Es liegt nicht immer so frei am Rad wie hier.
2. in velorian Kabelbox sortieren Nun braucht es Mut für den einen Schnitt.
3. velorian Kabelbox schließen Die Kabelenden werden mit Flachsteckern versehen und isoliert. Auf die Fachstecker werden die mitgelieferten Verteiler gesteckt.
3. velorian Kabelbox schließen Jetzt wird das velorian E-Bike Blinkerset über den Verteiler zusätzlich mit dem Scheinwerfer verbunden.
3. velorian Kabelbox schließen So kann es aussehen, wenn es fertig ist.

Einige E-Bike Antriebsysteme, wie z.B. Bosch, messen den Verbrauch der angeschlossenen Scheinwerfer und haben dafür einen Maximalwert definiert. Dieser ist vorher mit dem Fachhändler zu bestimmen, da bei zu viel Last das Antriebssystem Fehlermeldungen ausgeben kann, und die korrekte Funktion dann nicht mehr sichergestellt ist. Diesen Maximalwert sollten Blinker und Scheinwerfer zusammen bei Montage am Scheinwerferanschlusskabel nicht überschreiten. Das velorian E-Bike Blinkerset hat eine Nennleistung von 5 Watt, wenn alle 4 Blinker blinken.

bike rider 1

Kabelbox

Ein wesentlicher Bestandteil der Lösung ist die velorian Kabelbox. In ihr werden die Kabel von Taster und Blinkern am Lenker zu einem Kabel zusammen geführt. Nach dem Verbinden der Kabel werden diese intern gegen Zug gesichert, um ein Lösen der Kontakte durch Ziehen an den Kabeln bis zu einem gewissen Grad zu verhindern. Auch die Kabelbox wird mit Kabelbindern befestigt.

1. Kabel verbinden 1. Kabel verbinden
2. in velorian Kabelbox sortieren 2. in velorian Kabelbox sortieren
3. velorian Kabelbox schließen 3. velorian Kabelbox schließen

Video zur velorian Kabelbox Montage

bike rider 1

Blinker Halterungen

Verschiedene Blinker-Halterungen aus Stahlblech und Aluminium wurden entwickelt und getestet, denn kein Rad ist wie das andere. Halterungen für Blinker am Lenker, am Bowdenzug-Bremshebel und am Gepäckträger sind bisher vorgesehen. Dabei kombiniert die Halterung am Lenker den Schalter und die Blinkerhalterung, wie im Video weiter unten zur Montage der Universalhalterung gezeigt wird. Generell ist bisher eine relativ gerade Lenkerform Voraussetzung. Weitere verschiedene Halterungen auch für Lastenräder und Liegeräder sind in Entwicklung.

Video zur Montage der Blinker am Bowdenzug Bremshebel

Video zur Montage der Blinker am Gepäckträger

Video zur Montage der Blinker mit der Universal Blinkerhalterung

bike rider 1

Blinker Feature

E-Bike-Batterie kompatibel

detail

Das velorian E-Bike Blinkerset arbeitet mit einer Eingangsspannung von 6 - 48 Volt und kommt mit jeder E-Bike Batterie klar.

Einfacher Anschluss

detail

Das velorian Blinkerset kann einfach am Scheinwerferkabel angeschlossen werden. Wir empfehlen die Montage durch den Fachhändler.

Intuitive Bedienung

detail

Die Bedienung erfolgt über zwei Taster am Lenker. Einmal links gedrückt, blinkt der linke Blinker, bis der selbe Taster noch einmal gedrückt wird. Andernfalls geht der Blinker nach zwei Minuten von alleine aus.

Lauflichtblinker vorn und ultrakleine Blinker hinten

detail

Blinker machen dein Rad sicherer. Mit Lauflichtblinkern liegt dein Rad voll im Trend. Der flexible Blinkerarm verhindert ein vorzeitiges Abbrechen.

Warnblinken

detail

Werden beide Taster gedrückt, blinken alle Blinker 15 Minuten lang ein Warnblinken.

Zulassungskonform

detail

Das velorian E-Bike Blinkerset ist CE konform zu den Normen und Standards CISPR12 , ISO 11451-1, ISO 11451-2, DIN EN 15194 und verträgt Außentemperaturen von -20 °C bis +75 °C. Es werden die aktuellen Anforderungen der StVZO für Blinker an motorisierte Zweiräder, mehrspurigen Fahrrädern und der EMV-Richtlinie für E-Bikes erfüllt.

Die e-line auf Kickstarter seit dem 29.05.2020
Klicke hier...

brother and sister